What are Quotas in Indian Railways?

Quotas in
Indian Railways


S. No.QuotaDescription
1.GNGeneral Quota
2.LDLadies Quota
3.HOHead quarters/high official
4.DF Defence Quota
5.PH Parliament house Quota
6.FT Foreign Tourist Quota
7.DP Duty Pass Quota
8.CK Tatkal Quota
9.SS Female(above 45 Year)/Senior Citizen/Travelling alone
10.HP Physically Handicapped Quota
11.RE Railway Employee Staff on Duty for the train
12. GNRS General Quota Road Side
14.PQ Pooled Quota
15. RC(RAC) Reservation Against Cancellation
16.RS Road Side
17.YU Yuva
18.LB Lower Berth

RAC is a special provision to ‘split’ a berth into two or more seats.
This is really speaking not a quota but it is a predefined allocation to
take care of the above mentioned special provision.
In case of each road-side station quota, berths/seats are booked by the
originating station for journeys up-to the road-side station only up-to
the extent of accommodation earmarked for that Road-Side quota .In such
cases, distance restriction does not apply. If that berths/seat is
redefined from a remote location, then booking can also be done beyond
the road side station, within the limits defined for the remote location
quota. In no case can a through passenger be given accommodation in the
RS berth and the redefined portion. For eg., a passenger traveling from
NDLS to MAS cannot be given accommodation in a berth defined as GNRS
up-to BPL and subsequently redefined as GN from BPL to MAS.